Womens Cricket Super League 2019

Womens Cricket Super League 2019

The Women's Cricket Super League (WCSL), known as the Kia Super League (KSL) for sponsorship reasons, is a semi-professional women's Twenty20 cricket competition in England and Wales[nb 1] operated by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB). The competition features six franchise teams, partnered with a variety of county teams and boards and universities, and was envisaged as a means to bridge the gap between amateur domestic cricket and the increasingly professional international game.

Womens Cricket Super League 2019
Womens Cricket Super League 2019

The WCSL launched in 2016, with each team playing five group stage matches in a round-robin format, followed by a finals day; this was increased to ten group matches in 2018, following the ECB abandoning their initial plans to expand the tournament by also incorporating a 50-over competition.

The WCSL is scheduled to end after the 2019 season, with the ECB's new 100-ball format launching in 2020 for city-based franchises incorporating both men's and women's teams. This will leave no top-level domestic women's competition in the Twenty20 format.

Women’s Cricket Kia Super League Schedule:
Tuesday, August 6:
Lancashire Thunder vs Southern Vipers (Liverpool)
Loughborough Lightning vs Western Storm (Loughborough)
Yorkshire Diamonds vs Surrey Stars (Emerald Headingley)
Thursday, August 8:
Loughborough Lightning vs Southern Vipers (Loughborough)
Surrey Stars vs Lancashire Thunder (Guildford)
Saturday, August 10:
Western Storm vs Lancashire Thunder (The Cooper Associates County Ground)
Sunday, August 11:
Yorkshire Diamonds vs Loughborough Lightning (Emerald Headingley)
Southern Vipers vs Western Storm (Ageas Bowl)
Monday, August 12:
Surrey Stars vs Southern Vipers (Kia Oval)
Tuesday, August 13:
Lancashire Thunder vs Yorkshire Diamonds (Liverpool)
Western Storm vs Loughborough Lightning (The Brightside Ground, Bristol)
Thursday, August 15:
Surrey Stars vs Loughborough Lightning (Guildford)
Southern Vipers vs Lancashire Thunder (The 1st Central County Ground)
Yorkshire Diamonds vs Western Storm (York)
Sunday, August 18:
Lancashire Thunder vs Western Storm (TBC)
Southern Vipers vs Surrey Stars (Arundel)
Loughborough Lightning vs Yorkshire Diamonds (Loughborough)
Tuesday, August 20:
Surrey Stars vs Yorkshire Diamonds (Guildford)
Western Storm vs Southern Vipers (The Brightside Ground, Bristol)
Lancashire Thunder vs Loughborough Lightning (Emirates Old Trafford)
Wednesday, August 21:
Southern Vipers vs Yorkshire Diamonds (Ageas Bowl)
Western Storm vs Surrey Stars (The Cooper Associates County Ground)
Friday, August 23:
Yorkshire Diamonds vs Lancashire Thunder (Scarborough)
Loughborough Lightning vs Surrey Stars (Loughborough)
Sunday, August 25:
Loughborough Lightning vs Lancashire Thunder (Trent Bridge)
Yorkshire Diamonds vs Southern Vipers (York)
Surrey Stars vs Western Storm (Guildford)
Wednesday, August 28:
Lancashire Thunder vs Surrey Stars (TBC)
Western Storm vs Yorkshire Diamonds (The Cooper Associates County Ground)
Southern Vipers vs Loughborough Lightning (Ageas Bowl)
Sunday, September 1:
TBC vs TBC, 1st Semi-Final (County Ground, Hove)
Fina (The 1st Central County Ground)
The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced their plans for the Women's Cricket Super League in June 2015, stating they would invest £3 million over four years. The competition would launch with six teams playing in a Twenty20 format, with the initial intention to add a 50-over competition in 2017. The ECB received 28 applications to host teams in the first stage of bidding, with the process subsequently moving to an interview stage. The six successful bids were announced in January 2016. The ECB hoped that the WCSL would develop as a semi-professional competition, with the intention of bridging the gap between the amateur Women's County Championship and international cricket, for which England players are centrally contracted as professionals.

It was decided in advance of the 2017 season that the planned 50-over competition would not after all take place, with the ECB and the franchises preferring to concentrate their resources on developing the existing Twenty20 format. For the 2018 season, the group stage of the competition was doubled in size, with each of the teams now facing each other home and away for a total of ten group matches. Following the ECB's announcement that their 100-ball competition will launch in 2020, featuring new city-based franchises with both men's and women's teams, the WCSL is scheduled to be scrapped following the 2019 season. This will mean there will be no longer be a top-level women's domestic competition in the Twenty20 format.
Tag : Schedule
0 Leave A Reply "Womens Cricket Super League 2019"

Back To Top